MLB…What’s up with this snow?

“People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball. I’ll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring.” Rogers Hornsby.
I was pondering this very thought this morning as I awoke in my home in Overland Park, Kansas to find that it had snowed last night, and the temperature outside was a balmy 5°F. It wasn’t a lot of snow, probably around an inch, but not much more. The point is that it snowed. The amount wasn’t important. The fact that Punxsutawney Phil predicted 6 more weeks of winter was not exactly buoying my spirits…
My wife and I had just watched Super Bowl XLIX last night. It had been raining and snowing on and off all day. Nothing was sticking to the ground, and I foolishly thought that we may have dodged a snowy bullet. I was wrong. As the day melded into night, the snow had started to stick on our lawn, and by the time the game was over, we had our aforementioned inch-or-so of snow. I hate snow. It makes me wish that we were still living in the Orlando, Florida area. I could scuba dive any time that I had the time, or we could drive the 30+minutes to New Smyrna or Cocoa Beach. We got to a point that we took it for granted, so we went less and less. Talk about not knowing what you’ve got ‘till it’s gone…
My original thought was that yes, there is snow on the ground, but I am thinking about baseball. Batter up! Play ball! Get your programs here! But not if there is a bunch of cold white stuff on the ground! In reality, at this time of year, the snow is not an issue as far as spring training is concerned. It doesn’t really snow enough in Florida or Arizona to affect workouts and spring training games. My thoughts are fast -forwarding to the end of March and the beginning of April. I was thinking of major league games being postponed or cancelled because of snow. On April 23, 2013, 17 games were cancelled because of snow and cold. Yuck! On May 2nd of that same year, the Rays-v-Royals game at Kauffman Stadium was called due to snow. The Mets-Rockies game was called due to snow on April 15th, 2013.
There are probably many examples of this throughout major league baseball history. It is a mental exercise to try and think back to remember them. I would like to hear about some of your memories of baseball games being cancelled because Old Man Winter wasn’t ready to play ball yet.
As for me, I will once again recall the words of the great Rogers Hornsby, and add a few of my own. Let’s see… ‘I really hate snow! This stuff needs to melt, and it needs to warm up so we can start baseball season’.

Leave a Reply

