MLB…Disappearing History.

MLB… Disappearing History.
I am not one to be macabre. I don’t like to walk around spouting gloom and doom, and I try not to associate with those who do. I know that there are plenty of ‘Debbie Downer’s’ and ‘Gloomy Gus’s’ out there. I would rather not deal with that.
Okay, so why the weird introduction to today’s article? It is because I just learned that Hall-Of-Famer Al Rosen has passed away at 91 years old. Al Rosen was a 4-time all-star with the Cleveland Indians. He was the third baseman on the last Cleveland Indians team to win a World Series in 1953. In that same year, he also took MVP honors. After his playing career was over, he was successful in the front office of several MLB teams. I most remember him as a front office man for the New York Yankees. He was one of a few Jewish players who are enshrined in Cooperstown (Sandy Koufax and Hank Greenberg , and Lou Boudreau …). He was exposed to the anti-Semitism that can exist in our game. He was a star in his day in spite of that.
What is really striking a chord with me is that since the beginning of 2015, we have now lost three significant pieces of our baseball history. Ernie Banks, Minnie Minoso, and now Al Rosen have passed away. These men are a part of the pantheon of baseball greats. Obviously, people pass on. Nobody lives forever, but it is still sad when one of these men passes away.
We need to keep our history alive. I believe that baseball is truly one of those things where the lore is passed from one generation to the next. I used to hear stories from my grandfather (who knew Hank Greenberg), as well as my father, along with neighbors, coaches, and so on. One of the ways that we keep our game great is to tell the stories and pass down the memories.
I close today with simply this….R.I.P. Al Rosen.

Leave a Reply

